VMworld – Long time no see


It is good to get to see you again this year my good friend! It has been two years since I last attended VMworld in Las Vegas and this is going to be my fourth VMworld (2006 LA, 2008 LV, 2009 SF and 2011 LV).

It’s been a hectic couple of weeks and I haven’t had time to prepare as thoroughly as I would have liked to. But I’m happy with the sessions that I added to the schedule weeks ago because now all of those are full. Although most if not all sessions will be recorded so if you attend the conference you can watch those recordings later. But if you have any questions about the topic or if you want to talk to the presenter after the session then it would be good to attend that specific session. If you are only planning to listen then you could just as well watch the recording.

Sessions 

Here is my list of sessions that I’m planning to attend:

  • VSP1628 VMware vSphere Clustering Q&A
  • VSP1926 Getting Started with VMware vSphere Design
  • VSP3205 Technology Preview: VMware vStorage APIs for VM and Application Granular Data
  • VSP1956 The VMware ESXi Quiz Show
  • VSP1425 Ask the Expert vBloggers
  • VSP1956 Protecting SMBs Using Site Recovery Manager 5.0 with VMware vSphere Replication
  • BCA1995 Design, Deploy, Optimized SQL Server on VMware ESXi 5
  • VSP1823 VMware Storage Distributed Resource Scheduler
  • VSP3116 VMware vSphere 5.0 Resource Management Deep Dive
  • VSP2384 Distributed Datacenters with Multiple vCenter Deployments: Best Practices

Networking, parties and meet ups

The whole conference is a really big networking opportunity. When you are not attending sessions you should walk around the expo floor and talk to people, ask questions and interact. This is your chance to meet people face to face and get your questions answered and maybe answer someone else’s questions too. I’m really looking forward to meeting new people, seeing old friends and I might bump into old colleagues too. If you see me wondering around I’m always up for tech talk. I’m also fairly easy to be recognized wearing my shirts:

When there is a conference there is a party/parties. Vendors are usually organizing customer appreciation parties but there are also some individuals or small groups that are doing the same. These are really good networking opportunities. Here is my party/meetup list:

Tips and links

Here are a few of links to good blog posts about VMworld happenings and tips. My advice is to wear shoes that you know are comfortable, so no new shoes. Pedometer is also nice to carry around if you want to track how much you walk during the week

See you at the VMworld!

Leave a Reply

